Stay up to date with NSW Sprint on Facebook  

     Sprint Events
     Sprint Results
     Event Photos
     Sprint Series Points
     Australian Canoeing Sprint Page


2016 SprintSeries

SprintSeries 1: 23 July at SIRC
SprintSeries 2: 14 August at Avoca
SprintSeries 3: 24 September at SIRC
SprintSeries 4: 16/17 October at Manly (date to be finalised)
SprintSeries 5: 13 November at SIRC


About Sprinting

Sprint Racing is one of the best-known competitive canoeing paddlesports in Australia and offers a great national and international career-path for athletes with aspirations of competing on the international stage.

Within NSW, athletes can begin their careers being coached at club level and compete for their clubs at the NSW Sprint Series and annual State Championships, all of which combine to ensuring the best for NSW athletes.


Sprint Series

The NSW Sprint Series is the annual round robin sprinting series for Canoe/Kayak. Over distances of 1000m, 500m and the super-fast 200m events, athletes compete against any age, craft and themselves to be the fastest across the finish line. The Sprint Series offers a fun and inclusive environment for all athletes to gain and hone skills in sprinting in whatever craft you chose. The Sprint Series is open to canoes, kayaks, paracanoes, surf-skis, SUPS, outriggers and even dragon boats.

State Championships

The NSW State Championships is the premier event for Canoe/Kayak with athletes competing in Age and Class events to be called the NSW State Champion. Age categories for men and women can vary from U10 events all the way through to our Open and Masters events at 80+. Canoe, Kayak and SUP events are included in the State Championships.

National Events

As well as competing in the NSW events, athletes can compete at a national level in the Grand Prix series and the National Championships run by Australian Canoeing.

International Events

Athletes can be selected to represent Australia to compete internationally in World Cups, World Championships and Olympic Games. Sprinting is the oldest Olympic canoe/kayak paddlesport, having been introduced to the Summer Olympics at the 1936 Berlin Olympic Games.

NSW Athletes at the Olympic Games

NSW has a proud Olympic history, having represented Sprint at all the Olympic Games since the 1956 Melbourne Olympic Games, which is when Australia first competed in the Olympics in Sprinting.  The NSW and ACT Olympic Representatives can be found below. NSW & ACT also hold the record for the highest number of athletes to represent Australia at the Olympic Games in Sprinting.

Sprint Committee

Your Sprint Committee can be contacted at sprintatpaddlensw [dot] org [dot] au or paddlensw [dot] sprintatgmail [dot] com or via our Facebook page (you don't need an account) https://www.facebook.com/PaddleNSW.Sprint

  • Jeff Beere (Avoca Kayak Club)
  • Graham Matts (Manly Warringah Kayak Club)
  • Stephen Shelley (Windsor Canoe Club)
  • Laura White (Chair) (AC & ICF Official)  

The Sprint Committee is selected from nominations and all positions are voluntary. The Committee is charged with organising the Sprint Series and Sprint Championships each year; ensuring that the sprint community is represented at a national level and that the future of sprinting remains strong and bright for our athletes.

NSW & ACT Australian Olympic & Paralympic Representatives

Allan LivingstoneOlympic1956, 1960   
Barry KellyOlympic1980, 1984     1
Barry StuartOlympic1956, 1960, 1964, 1968   
Brian MortonOlympic1996, 2000   
Colin SiedersParalympic2016   
Daniel Collins**Olympic1992, 1996, 2000, 2004    1   1
David SmithOlympic2008, 2012   1  
Denis McGuireOlympic1960, 1964   
Dennis GreenOlympic1956, 1960, 1964, 1968, 1972     1
Dennis HuessnerOlympic1972, 1976   
Dylan LittlehalesParalympic2016   
Edith Pelluso (nee Cochrane)Olympic1956   
Graham JohnsonOlympic1972   
Helen JacobsonOlympic1976   
Jimmy WalkerOlympic1996   
Joanne Brigden-JonesOlympic2012   
John SouthwoodOlympic1968, 1972, 1976   
Lachlan TameOlympic2016   1
Lynette WaggOlympic1964   
Markus FaulksOlympic1956   
Max BaldwinOlympic1956   
Murray StewartOlympic2012, 2016   1  
Naomi FloodOlympic2012, 2016   
Nathan BaggaleyOlympic2000, 2004    2 
Paul LynchOlympic1996   
Peter ScottOlympic1996, 2000   
Phil ColesOlympic1960, 1964, 1968   
Raymond MartinOlympic1984   
Riley FitzsimmonsOlympic2016   
Robert LeeOlympic1980   
Ross ChafferOlympic2000   
Sebastian MarczakOlympic2012   
Shane SuskaOlympic2000   
Shelley Oates-WildingOlympic1996, 2000   
Steve WoodOlympic1988, 1992     1
Sue WhitebrookOlympic1976   
Tony SchumacherOlympic2008   
Torsten LachmannOlympic2008   
Walter BrownOlympic1956     1
Yanda NossiterOlympic1996, 2000   

** Daniel Collins is Australia's sole Olympic representative from ACT

Where do we hold Events?

The Sydney International Regatta Centre (SIRC) was built in the mid 1990's as Australia's Sydney 2000 Olympic venue for canoeing and rowing. SIRC has been a wonderful legacy venue for our sport and remains as the premier venue in Australia. It's capabilities of hosting a wide varity of events from local weekend running groups to Ironman (triathlons) to Head of the River (rowing) to world events such as Oceania Championships, World Cups and World Championships make it a truly world class facility and a wonderful experience to compete on the same waters as the Olympians.
Located in Penrith, about 45km from Sydney, SIRC is a great central location for clubs in NSW and ACT to race at and to be able to call it our 'home ground'. 
Sydney International Regatta Centre
Looking down the SIRC Competition Lake from the finish line. Control tower and starter's huts on the left.